Spiderman: Turns On The Broadway Lights!


20120429-202913.jpg

Before I get into this review, I have to admit a few things. Firstly, I am NOT a theater critic. Oh sure, I’ve seen my fill of musicals and performances ranging from “Cats” to “Wicked” to even seeing “Billy Elliott” when I was in London a few years ago (and it put me to sleep) but I would never consider myself a qualified critic.

Secondly, I am a huge fan of U2 AND comic books…so this show is a win-win for me. So, knowing now what you know, you can take this review with a grain of salt. So here it is…

For MY money, “Spiderman: Turn Off The Dark” is as entertaining a show on Broadway as any of the others for all of the reasons I stated above. It’s a show about a superhero…with a soundtrack by an awesome alternative rock band (that just came off one of the greatest money-making tours EVER) …and it’s a LOT like watching a science fiction, special effects laden movie (a la “Dick Tracy” mixed with “Spiderman”… oddly enough). There are MANY critics who have railed against this show, calling it non-Broadway like. Saying it’s incoherent and loud and obnoxious. They say it’s not up to par but I disagree. This is very MUCH what Broadway is now about. There are all kinds of shows near Times Square that serve a purpose. Some are serious drama, some are comedies (I saw “Spamalot” there a couple years ago and it was hysterical!), there are musicals and hipster art and on and on. So why not a musical about a superhero that is set in New York? It seems appropriate enough and, for me, it works! It’s funny and dramatic and I liked the soundtrack (didn’t love it though). I thought the art direction was awesome and the actors and actresses were great. All in all, I had a great time! And really, sometimes thats all I need when spending $100 to see a show in NYC. I just wanted to have a good time and Spiderman is definitely that!

If you have kids or just want to go and have a good time, consider “Spiderman: Turn Off The Dark.” And don’t listen to the critics. Just go watch, relax and be ready to duck! ‘Cause Spidey and the Green Goblin do some flybys! And THAT is pretty cool!

20120429-202328.jpg

20120429-202254.jpgI didn’t take it but I WAS this close!

20120429-202459.jpgMy seats were stage left, FRONT ROW?!?! Talk about being close!

This entry was posted in Concerts, Places, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

