Tee Box Philosophy


20120503-230617.jpg

What is it about golf? There’s something about hitting a little ball with a stick that brings out the best in my Dad. In our family, it’s hard to get a word in when my siblings and I are at the house. But when we’re on the course (usually Jaycee’s Golf Course in Zanesville), my Dad becomes a literal fountain of knowledge, spouting out advice on everything from golf grips to golf swings (use your hips/wrists/shoulders MORE!) to cooking tips to money advice. Funny thing is…I can’t remember him actually verbalizing his philosophy on life until today. It was in on a beautiful sunny day on the 17th tee box, Thursday, May 3rd, 2012 when, out of the blue, he says this to me while we’re waiting for a group ahead of us to leave the green on this pretty little par 3…

“Here’s MY philosophy: Enjoy life. Treat people the way you want to be treated but don’t let them take advantage of you. Don’t listen to a word that politicians say. Oh…and (as he takes a giant swing) hit down on the ball.”

Sounds like pretty sound philosophizing, if you ask me. Could have used this…oh…maybe 20 years ago but hey…better late than never, right? And then I went and made my only par of the day. So at least ONE of those words of wisdoms ring true (but I gotta believe they ALL apply).

20120503-230639.jpg

20120503-230656.jpg Um…how am I supposed to get out from behind this tree?

20120503-230838.jpg The fans went wild after I hit my par putt!

20120503-230944.jpg

20120503-231013.jpg Mom bought the GOOD stuff!!!

20120503-231115.jpg Meet Drake! My new nephew!!!

This entry was posted in Family Affair, Family Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tee Box Philosophy

  1. That so made me cry for some reason. And I am sure Dad told us all about his ” literal fountain of knowledge” many years ago, we were probably just not listening. LOL I am so glad you had a good time. Love You!!

  2. tonyburkhart says:

    Awesome words of wisdom and what a great moment that must have been for father and son! On a related note, I can’t help but feel all this was partially due to me, being that the universe saw me appear on that date in 1979. Thanks for sharing that story Alan, it’s one of my favorite 🙂

Leave a Reply

