The Gate I’m In


20121019-071601.jpg6:30am in Minneapolis, I’m connecting from San Francisco and heading home. My landing gate was G-something or other and I have to go to gate A13 for my next flight. That is pretty much all the way on the other side of the airport so I start my walk. One of the things I like about the airport (and I DO actually like some things about the airport) is walking past the different gates and looking to see where other people are headed.

As much as I travel, there are so many places I have yet to see…places like Toronto and Portland and Walla Walla. Okay…I have NEVER seen a gate where a plane is traveling to Walla Walla but still…I’ve never been there. I imagine some day I might get to see some of the many places I HAVEN’T been. I’m hoping that when the time comes, maybe I’ll get to see those places with my wife and kids. So many places I go, I go by myself. It would be nice to journey somewhere with my family. See some new things, meet some new people. As it stands, I find myself on repeat, going to the same places I’ve been before. Most of these places are cities where I go from airport to hotel to arena or stadium then back to the airport, only occasionally getting to enjoy all the different sights, culture and ambiance of any given place.

At the Hertz rental station the other day, I noticed their new slogan is…”Live The Journey.” I’m not sure if they are referring only to traveling or if they are indirectly referring to life itself. One of the ways I have been fortunate is that I HAVE been to places and seen things I never thought I would ever see. Now that my kids are getting older, I want my journey to include them! I want to take them to overseas to experience new cultures. I want to take them to see the red rocks of Sedona. I want to take them to the top of the St. Louis Arch. I want them to smell the beignets at Cafe Du Monde or taste the crab cakes in Baltimore.

Now I’m at Gate A13. It’s one of the smaller gates here at the Minneapolis airport and today it is my pathway home. For now, it’s my favorite gate. But who knows…maybe some day I’ll cash in some of these miles I’m accruing and hop on a plane heading to Juneau. I realize it’s October but I hear Alaska is beautiful this time of year. I just hope when I do get the chance, I can take my family with me. Come to think of it, if I’m going to Juneau, Stephanie probably would hate it…too cold. Okay then…Bora Bora it is!

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

