The Best of 2014 (In My Opinion)


new-year-2014-wallpapers

It’s the end of 2014…time for all of the “Best Of” and “Worst Of” lists. In year’s past, I have included my favorites on my other 2 media related sites but this year I’ve decided to consolidate. It seems counter-productive to try and have 3 different blog sites when I so rarely write anymore. As much as I love music & movies, I don’t see the point in writing about everything I see or hear simply because…well…no one really cares that much anyway. EVERYONE has a voice anymore so why add to the noise? So I’m going to just wrap up this year with a capsule of all of MY favorite songs, albums and movies and take from it what you will. Hopefully this past year has found you and your loved ones healthy, happy and content. Here’s to 2014…an unspectacular year for movies and music yet there definitely were some bright spots…

TOP 20 FAVORITE SONGS OF 2014

Top 20 Songs Of 2014

I know…I’d LOVE to write about what I enjoy about each and every one of these tracks, from the simplicity of The Kooks’ “Melody Maker” to the horror-film intensity of In This Moment’s “Big Bad Wolf” but truth be told, you like what you like. In MY case, I like a good mixture of a lot of music and these tracks were the ones that found their way into my ears, on my car stereo or in my iTunes mixes of this past year. Overall, I enjoyed this year’s crop of music. I found it to be a little TOO pop heavy at times, mostly due to the fact that it’s the genre my kids enjoy the most so I often find myself listening to it in the car, but overall, there were some stellar releases! Here are my Top 5 Favorite Albums of this past year…

5. Beck – “Morning Phase”

Beck-Morning-Phase

4. The Black Keys – “Turn Blue”

The Black Keys

Spoon – “They Want My Soul” 

spoon-they-want-my-soul-album-artwork

Sturgill Simpson – “Metamodern Sounds In Country Music”

Sturgill Simpson

In This Moment – “Black Widow”

inthismomentblackwidow

A couple more to consider: Lana Del Rey’s “Ultraviolence”, Run The Jewels’ “Run The Jewels 2”, Bleachers “Strange Desire”, The Misper’s EP “Dark Bits”, ScHoolboy Q’s “Oxymoron” and TV On The Radio’s “Seeds.” I would also include U2’s latest, “Songs Of Innocence” but if you own any i-Product, you got it for free so…you can judge it for yourself.

On to the movies! This year has been particularly slow when it comes to truly GREAT films. So far, I don’t know that I can say there is any one flick that I HAVE to see over & over again (unlike last year when I saw “Gravity” 3 times in the theater and several more on my iPad). But there were a few bright spots. Here are the 10 I would recommend you see when given the time. I’m including whether it should be seen in the theater or at home. With movies costing so much these days, sometimes it’s worth simply waiting for the rental.

Top 5 Movies You Should See In A Theatre

5. How To Train Your Dragon 2 (in 3D)

4. Captain America: The Winter Soldier

3. Edge Of Tomorrow

2. Guardians Of The Galaxy

1. Interstellar

Top 5 Movies You Should Definitely See…But As A Rental

5. Under The Skin

4. Begin Again

3. Blue Ruin

2. Boyhood

1. Whiplash

Top 5 Worst Movies Of 2014 (That I Managed To Sit Through)

5. A Million Ways To Die In The West

4. Transformers: Age Of Extinction

3. Annie

2. Godzilla

1. Spider-Man 2

Top 5 Movies I Have Yet To See From 2014 That MIGHT Be Great…

5. Fury

4. Birdman

3. Unspoken

2. Force Majeure

1. Inherent Vice

My FAVORITE movie of 2014 (so far)?

Whiplash-poster

So there you have it. As of December 27th, 11:17 PM, these are my favorites (or least favorites, in some cases). Here’s to the year that was and I hope that 2015 brings even better entertainment!

This entry was posted in A Look Back and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

