Monkey Hits Her Teens


IMG_1389

Well…here we go. Ava turned 13 yesterday. It wasn’t a surprise and it wasn’t like it crept up on us. To be perfectly honest…sometimes I forgot that she WASN’T in her teens already. The girl is more mature (at times) than some adults I know…including myself. Not saying she doesn’t have her goofy side…because she does. But I attribute that to my genes and she can’t help herself.

As the years fly by, in MY mind, Ava will always be my baby girl, scooting across the kitchen floor (she never did learn to crawl), binky in her mouth and giving lean-in hugs (hey…she liked her personal space). I can’t believe how fast she’s grown and she surprises me every day. Now she’s on her school’s golf team, is quick with a quip or funny response and has a unique perspective on life that makes me proud to be her dad. She is a friend to everyone and, as far as I know, doesn’t have a mean bone in her body. She loves binge-watching Netflix shows and dabbles on the ChatSnap from time to time. Oh…and she MIGHT just like LUSH products. I could be wrong about that but…I’m pretty sure she hooked…

IMG_0472

She’s growing into a beautiful young woman and as silly as she can be at times, she is more level-headed and more mature than I ever was at her age. She’s growing into her own and I couldn’t possibly be more proud of her.  She enters the 8th grade here in less than a month and I’m hoping this year will be filled with as many laughs and amazing memories as she can cram into 365 days!

Love you Monkey!!!

Your Father

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Family Affair, Kids and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

