Spinning My Wheels: Instructor Irritation



Trust me when I tell you…THIS is NOT my instructor!

I’ve been spinning now since the middle of the summer and have gotten used to going about twice a week. As I’ve gone along, I’ve found that I have some pet peeves about the women (as I have yet to have a male instructor) who are my instructors. Not that these are really any of their own faults. It’s just that some of the things they do drive me a little nuts. If you’ve never been spinning, it’s basically stationary bike riding except you have someone leading you who tells you when to adjust the speed and the amount of hill adjustment of your bike. On your bike there is a knob that you turn to adjust the hill (turning it makes it harder or easier to pedal). From there, it’s just a matter of cranking your legs! But that isn’t all there is. Here are MY personal instructor pet peeves…

  1. The music is ESSENTIAL. If you’ve been reading my blog, you KNOW I love music! So when I hear 3 Nickelback songs in 45 minutes, I wanna pull my hair out! Or a slow song while I’m trying to ride up a big hill? C’MON! I need some ROCK to get me over that hump dammit! Today’s mix? Freefallin’ (decent start), Stairway To Heavan (too long), Some kind of AC/DC-Bon Jovi dance mix (which sucked), a rap song I didn’t know, 2 Motley Crue songs, Evanescence and Fergie to wind it up. Yeeeech…TERRIBLE mix! Here’s my IPod…put it on random and you’ll get a better mix than THAT!
  2. Don’t go yelling at me to CRANK THE KNOB and then you don’t do it also! It pisses me off having someone telling me to go faster up a hill and they are just spinning along like they’re going downhill. If you’re gonna make me do it, then you gotta do it. It should be in the instructor handbook!
  3. Tell me what we’re doing. Don’t surprise me by saying we’re gonna be riding on a flat for 2 minutes and then 30 seconds later we’re cranking up another hill or doing “jumps” (when you leave your seat to pedal). I HATE that! I want to know what the hell I’m doing at least 5 seconds before we do it.
  4. Oh yeah…I HATE 2 second jumps. They are stupid and I get nothing out of them except for a sore ass.

And that’s it. Just a few minor irritations. Nothing that can’t be fixed! Thanks!

This entry was posted in Spinning My Wheels and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spinning My Wheels: Instructor Irritation

  1. Blah la Blah says:

    All very valid pet peeves. If I took spinning, all of those things would irritate me. The top two for me of what you said would be the music and the instructor not doing what she is making you do. What is good for the goose should be good for the gander, right?
    Music is key for a work out. I posted two blogs today about my workouts. The first, in complete denial that I needed to do it, then the post workout blog. I think what was going on with me today is that I had been watching movies while I was jogging the 2 days prior. But today, I listened to my I-Pod. What a difference the right music makes. NO SLOW MUSIC ALLOWED!!! Not unless it is warm up or a cool down.

  2. Danielle-lee says:

    The very sore ass from the 2 minute jumps is GOOD! Sheesh.

    When I used to do spinning, I hated the random slow song in the middle of the mix. It really killed the momentum for me.

  3. OMG, I think I’d throw myself off the bike if I heard 3 Nickelback songs in a row, just one is enough to make me want to poke myself in the eye. If you’re looking for good workout music, may I recommend the Hives newest album…perfect running accompaniment for me.

  4. Brad says:

    As an instructor for 12 yrs. i`ve heard those complaints before. All legit. However, I think that you are just putting yourself in the wrong class.

    Find a male instructor who focuses on STRENGTH style classes, alot of slow music can be very powerful !

    Try to put yourself in the instructors shoes for a minute. And know that a good instructor has to put together a ride very quickly based on those attending the class. I have people from 20 to 60 yrs. of age in any given class. Can you think of one style of music that can please all ?

    And lastly, we can all find negitives in anything! Try to focus on something positive ( like your form on the bike or pedalstroke ) and enjoy the ride!

    Hi Bob! Thank you for stopping by and I appreciate the comments! I DO understand the kind of situation that the instructors are in and I realize they have to please a lot of people…so I can understand how my comments can be misconstrued. I am very much into the music during a ride, so when a song pops up that I don’t like, it throws me off a bit. However, I would like you to know that I certainly DO appreciate what my instructors are doing and I LOVE spinning! So if my comments (aka bitching) come across as if I am ungrateful, I don’t wish them to be that way. I really do enjoy it and wouldn’t give it up for anything! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

