Sunny Side Up


Working here in New Orleans for the NCAA Tournament and there’s sunny skies and mild temperatures. It’s great to be alive here and enjoying some great food, good music and lots of college basketball. Driving into work today, we had the XM radio on and enjoying some classic tunes from Frank Sinatra. With the windows down and a cool breeze blowing in, “Cycles” came on.

So I’m down and so I’m out
But so are many others
So I feel like tryin’ to hide
My head ‘neath these covers
Life is like the seasons
After winter comes the spring
So I’ll keep this smile awhile
And see what tomorrow brings

I’ve been told and I believe
That life is meant for livin’
And even when my chips are low
There’s still some left for givin’
I’ve been many places
Maybe not as far as you
So I think I’ll stay awhile
And see if some dreams come true

There isn’t much that I have learned
Through all my foolish years
Except that life keeps runnin’ in cycles
First there’s laughter, then those tears

There’s some truth in those lyrics. I can’t deny that I’ve been feeling down. Lots of personal matters being handled and way too much time away from my family. 201 days on the road last year, and that doesn’t count the time spent at home but working in Cincinnati. It was an extremely busy year and it took its toll on many facets of my life. But with that being said, I am moving on and trying to get back to the Alan I used to be. I haven’t been happy for many reasons and so…I’m not gonna dwell on it anymore. Now I’m looking at the sunny side of things. It’s been a challenge trying to work and balance family & friends and still be who I am. Many people who work in this businessĀ  find themselves in the situation that I am in…we get working and the calls keep coming and the work seems to take over. And it happened.

So now I’m focusing on 2011. This is gonna be a great new year. I don’t care what happens really. All I know is that for now I have my family, my health and my dog. Beyond that, I can’t control a damn thing…and I’m learning that maybe that’s not such a bad thing.

So this is me breathing. Through all my foolish years, I haven’t learned much but what I have learned is…you gotta embrace the laughter WITH the tears…and life goes on. I’m movin’ on…and I’m not looking back.

This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

