Konversations With Kids: Koll…er…College


february-2009-0991

I’ve decided to start a new category I’m calling “Konversations With Kids”. Seriously…you can’t even begin to imagine some of the things that come out of my kids’ mouths. There are so many conversations in a day that I can’t even keep track! But tonight, Ava and I got chatting about her future. And it went a little something like this…

“Daddy, why do you work so much? To make money?”

“Yes, Ava. That IS why I work so much.”

“Do you work in college?”

“No…why do you ask?”

“Jenny (our friend) works in college. Does she go to college?”

“Well…no. She DID go to college. But now she WORKS at a college.”

“Can I go to college, Daddy?”

“Absolutely you can Ava! I recommend it!”

“Okay. What is college though?”

“It’s where you go to study and learn things. Your Mommy and I both went to college. We would love you to go to college also…”

“Okay. It’s kind of hard to think about. Can I think about it tomorrow after breakfast?”

“Ava, trust me…you have plenty of time. Think about college ALL you want…”

“Okay. Maybe after I have my cereal and chocolate milk.”

“Fair enough.”

THE END…BUT ONLY UNTIL SHE TURNS 13…

This entry was posted in Family Life, Kids, Konversations With Kids and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Konversations With Kids: Koll…er…College

  1. Amber says:

    Hey, this is great. If she is thinking about it this early then she’ll probably have a good goal in mind by the time she’s 13!

  2. How about: “I’m not working that much. It looks as if I’m working but in reality I spend all my time blogging.”

    I like your idea. Kids say the funniest things but do we really remember most of them? I would have loved if my parents had kept a journal of our bizarre childhood conversations (plus it’s always great wedding speech material!)

  3. Mom says:

    That is so lovable. And a good way to keep their baby (young) thoughts saved. You think you’ll remember, but you don’t. Keep it up, Alan. I personally love reading that kind of blog. I love you college-bound Ava!!! Grandma

  4. mandy says:

    That was awesome.

  5. kat says:

    That was sooo cute! And a great idea for the blog! I just read it to Bill and he said we need to start writing this stuff down too.

Leave a Reply

