Top 10 Albums Of 2009


2009 was a pretty good year for alternative rock, with new releases by U2, Green Day, Pearl Jam and so many other bands that I have been listening too for years. So…keeping that in mind, my favorite albums lean that way. Here are my Top 10 Favorite Albums of 2009!

 
10. Green Day – “21st Century Breakdown”
Reprise Records (released May 15)

Foreigner_-_Can't_Slow_Down_(September_9,_2009)
9. Foreigner – “Can’t Slow Down”
Rhino (released Sept. 29)

julian casablanca

8. Julian Casablancas – “Phrazes For the Young”
RCA/Jive Label (released Novermber 6)

scarlett-johansson-break-up-pete-yorn

7. Pete Yorn & Scarlett Johanssen – “Break Up”
Boyletown Records (released Sept 4)

U2_No_Line_On_The_Horizon_1800px_1606px_

6. U2 – “No Line On The Horizon”
Universal/Island (released March 3)

silversun-pickups

5. Silversun Pickups – “Swoon”
P Dangerbird Records (released April 14)

metric-fantasies-cover

4. Metric – “Fantasies”
Metric Productions (released April 14)

The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart

3. The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart
Slumberland (released Feb. 3)

Pearl-Jam-Backspacer

2. Pearl Jam – “Backspacer”
Monkeywrence (released Sept. 20)

mute-math-armistice

1. MuteMath – “Armistice”
Warner Brothers Records (released August 18)

Considered to be a Christian Alternative rock band on their first album, MuteMath (a band from New Orleans) went full alternative on this  album and it came along for me at just the right time. As much as I raved about my favorite album last year (Kings of Leon’s “Only By The Night”), I kept this band’s album to myself mostly because it seems so personal. There are so many tracks that reflect my thoughts and feelings that I didn’t want to share it. But I wore the CD out in my car for months and there are 13 reasons why. EVERY track on this album is pure awesomeness. With a sound that is bombastic enough to be U2, but creative enough to reflect a little more than a typical alternative band, MuteMath has put together possibly the strongest collection of music that I’ve heard in years. And so much of the music is, for the first time in forever, very lyric driven. A lot of reviews for this album have been negative simply because this sophomore effort wasn’t like their first album. But I had never heard any of the first album, so I couldn’t compare the two. All I knew was that THIS album was exactly what I needed when I bought it. With some Genesis-like progressive touches, the entire album is built for an arena, with thumping drums and loud guitars. And with lead singer Paul Meany leading the way, they wrap thoughtful lyrics around expiremental elements to make an album for this decade. Meany was quoted as saying, “Our goal is to embarrass the first record, that’s what we’re trying to do here, and I think we’re on point to pull it off.” I have to say….that is a true statement. And they totally pulled it off!

This entry was posted in Top 10 Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

